Boca Juniors / La Bombonera

Buenos Aires
Boca Juniors / Koka Juniors
Brandsen 805, Capital Federal

History and description

La Bombonera was built between 1938 and 1940, and, as the legend goes, received its name because the architect suddenly realised the similarities between the stadium and a chocolate (bombon) he was eating.

Boca Juniors had already played at the site since 1924, which was until then a rather simple wooden stadium. After Boca bought the land in 1931, it therefore started making plans to build a new concrete stadium that could hold 100,000 fans.

La Bombonera officially opened on the 25th of May 1940 with a friendly between Boca Juniors and San Lorenzo (2-0), though it took until the end of 1941 for the second tier to be completed. A third tier was finally constructed between 1951 and 1953.

La Bombonera at that time had stands on three sides. The fourth side was left open with just a few VIP boxes and an obelisk, which was because of a lack of space due to the residential buildings just across the street.

Boca Juniors almost moved to a new 140,000-stadium in the 1970s, but political and economical turmoil ended the construction that had just begun.

In 1986, the stadium got named Estadio Alberto J. Armando in honour of the former iconic club president, but most fans have kept referring to the stadium as La Bombonera.

In 1996, the VIP boxes and obelisk on the open site were replaced by a small stand that was higher than the previous one, but again mainly consisted of VIP boxes.

Boca Juniors currently has plans to build a new stadium almost adjacent to La Bombonera, with a capacity of 75,000 seats divided over two tiers. La Bombonera will not get demolished though, but used for other purposes. Plans are still in preliminary stages.